About Roots and Borders / Racines et Frontières
Susanne Kessler

The catalogue accompanies the exhibition »Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders« at the Conseil de l'Europe (Council of Europe) in Strasbourg. Due to Corona, the exhibition (originally planned from 31.8. to 25.9.2020) has been postponed to 2021. The catalogue is printed and will be presented during Artweek Berlin in September.

The German-Italian artist Susanne Kessler is not only socialized by having lived certain periods of her life in France, England and Italy, but also by exhibiting in many European countries. At the time of the Berlin Wall, Kessler studied in West-Berlin. These early experiences are still filtered in her installations and works especially on the subject of »Grenze« (border) or »common ground«,  in such works as »Europa«, »Jerusalem« or »Mappa Mundi«. Border (delimit, exclude, connect), dialogue, interaction, distance, space and overcoming space are the central aesthetic-political questions. Critically and playfully, Kessler mixes reality and fiction by advocating an unbiased thinking space. Each of her cartographies has a counter-model to the conventions in science and politics.

The line as the basis of the drawing in space is the constant element in Susanne Kessler's work. Dense concentration and circumferential networks of threads, wire and other materials, partly tamed by metal frames, etc., expand into large spatial installations. Further information can be found at Susanne Kessler.

Invitation/ Press release CATALOGUE RELEASE, 13.9.2020 - 5:00 pm

SKessler_cover
SKessler_seite03
SKessler_seite09
SKessler_seite11
SKessler_seite16
SKessler_seite22
SKessler_seite24

Title: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Page view: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

15 x 20 cm

English / French

Softcover

56 Pages

August 2020

ISBN: 978-3-938457-55-9


18,00 EUR

About Roots and Borders / Racines et Frontières
Susanne Kessler

Der Katalog begleitet die Ausstellung »Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders (Wurzeln und Grenzen)« im Conseil de l'Europe (Agora-Gebäude des Europarats) in Straßburg. Wegen Corona wurde die Ausstellung (ursprünglich geplant vom 31.8. bis 25.9.2020) kurzfristig in das Jahr 2021 verschoben. Der Katalog ist gedruckt und wird während der Artweek Berlin im September vorgestellt.

Die deutsch-italienische Künstlerin Susanne Kessler ist nicht nur durch einige Jahre Lebenszeit in Frankreich, England und Italien sozialisiert, sondern auch durch viele Ausstellungserfahrungen in europäischen Ländern. Zur Zeit der Mauer studiert Kessler in Berlin. Diese frühen Erfahrungen werden kontinuierlich in ihren Installationen und Arbeiten gefiltert, insbesondere zum Thema »Grenze« oder »common ground«, in Werken wie »Europa«, »Jerusalem« oder »Mappa Mundi«. Grenze (eingrenzen, ausgrenzen, verbinden), Dialog, Interaktion, Abstand, Raum und den Raum überwinden sind die zentralen, ästhetisch-politischen Fragen. Kritisch und spielerisch vermischt Kessler Realität und Fiktion, in dem sie sich zu einem unvoreingenommenen Denkraum bekennt. Jede ihrer Kartographien hat ein Gegenmodell zu den Konventionen in Wissenschaft und Politik.

Die Linie als Basis der Zeichnung im Raum ist in Susanne Kesslers Werk das konstante Element. Konzentrierte Verdichtungen und umfängliche Vernetzungen aus Fäden oder anderen Materialien, gebändigt durch Draht, Metallrahmen u.a., tendieren zur Verräumlichung und expandieren zu großen Installationen. Weitere Informationen finden sie bei Susanne Kessler.


Einladung/ Pressemitteilung  CATALOGUE RELEASE, 13.9.2020 – 17:00 Uhr

SKessler_cover
SKessler_seite03
SKessler_seite09
SKessler_seite11
SKessler_seite16
SKessler_seite22
SKessler_seite24

Cover: Susanne Kessler - About Roots and Borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

Seitenansicht: Susanne Kessler - about roots and borders/ racines et frontières

15 x 20 cm

Englisch / Französich

Softcover

56 Seiten

August 2020

ISBN: 978-3-938457-55-9


18,00 EUR